Attention Builders: I have buyers for you!

Baby Boomers Haven

Baby Boomers Haven (Photo credit: thinkpanama)

Attention Builders: I have buyers for you!

I was helping an agent from my office this weekend by showing a couple some homes in San Diego. These were Baby Boomers who wanted to move from their beautiful 2-story home to a single story home. Like many Baby Boomers, they are just tired of stairs. The buyers still want decent square footage and some room to breath, they just want it on a single floor. Sounds simple enough, right? Wrong!!!

As I talked with them about various areas in San Diego with single story homes, I realized that there are lots and lots of whole developments with only 2-story homes. When everyone wanted a McMansion, 2-story homes became all the rage. Builders built these big homes on small lots and churned out thousands of them. Just about all the new construction in my area are 2 and 3 story homes with 9 and 10 foot ceilings which add extra steps as well. I realized that to find single story homes this couple would have to look at older homes in outlying areas. This lead to another issue for them, proximity to healthcare facilities. As I talked more with these buyers I recognized that even a city as large as San Diego wasn’t prepared for the housing needs of Baby Boomers. It seems like there is a market for these types of homes but no supply. So this brings me to my plea.

Attention Builders: I have buyers for you! Build some single story homes and I can find you lots of customers. Just please let me know when you build them. Oh, and by the way, please make it soon!!

About catherinetalksrealestate

I am a San Diego native who loves everything about San Diego. I enjoy camping, hiking and reading. I am a licensed real estate agent in San Diego working with Coldwell Banker.
This entry was posted in Buying a San Diego Home, San Diego Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

