Is My Agent Holding Out on Me?

I have had to chuckle to myself lately over some of the comments from some of my buyer clients. I am working with some really terrific people now and loving every minute of it. Helping people find homes is truly a blessing to me, oh and it helps pay the bills as well.

Anyway, in the several months I have been working with these clients, the real estate market in San Diego has really changed. From last year where it was a big buyers market and sellers would bend over backwards to get any offer on their home, to this year where there are very few homes for sale and multiple offers on every home. I don’t think this change has really registered with my clients.

I have one lovely lady who tells me repeatedly that she wants a home in a particular area in San Diego, with a set of particular features and in a very low price range. I keep trying to explain there is nothing available that meets her criteria and if she seriously wants to buy a home she will need to make some adjustments to her wish list. I feel like she thinks I am holding out on her on available homes.

I have another couple who have changed their criteria so many times that, when asked, I really don’t know what they want. I am taking the shotgun approach with them, send them everything and hope something hits the target.

I have some clients relocating from another state that was hit really hard with distressed properties and are used to finding foreclosure homes easily. San Diego has had its share of distressed homes, but we have been working through them and the numbers have been dropping all year. Foreclosures are now a smaller part of our inventory but there are still buyers who imagine we have thousands of them here.

All of this brings me to my point, my clients love me, they trust me and they still think I am holding out on them. I have been fortunate to have worked with some really terrific agents when buying and selling previous homes and I have tried to model my business after them. I praise their names, even if they aren’t in the business any more, for the patience and understanding they exhibited when helping me find the right home. I guess this is karma, or the real estate gods getting even with me. Either way, I sure wish I could find that secret stash of homes my buyers think I have.

About catherinetalksrealestate

I am a San Diego native who loves everything about San Diego. I enjoy camping, hiking and reading. I am a licensed real estate agent in San Diego working with Coldwell Banker.
This entry was posted in Buying a San Diego Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

