So, You Want To Buy a San Diego Home? (The first in a series of home buyer thoughts.)

Let me start off by saying that I am a real estate agent. This is a second career for me and I made a conscious choice to become a real estate agent over anything else in the world I could be. It might sound a little hooky but I am an agent because I believe a safe, comfortable home is one of the most important parts of a happy life. I am truly thrilled when I help someone find a new home and see the excitement and hope in their eyes. Let’s just call it my way of paying forward.

Please know that everything posted on this blog is my own thoughts and musings. Nothing I write here should reflect in any way on any real estate company, association or professional. I don’t promise to withhold my personal opinions, but they are just that, my personal opinions. My postings will seem a little self-serving, I am after all a real estate agent, but I sincerely hope that you will get some useful information from them as well.

I remember the first time I broached the subject of buying a home with the man who became my husband. He thought I was a little crazy since we were both in our early and mid twenties and about the only thing he owned was his car. He was a good sport though and the next thing I knew he had found a house he wanted us to buy. I was so caught up in the idea of owning a home that I would have bought any home no matter the condition or location. That is pretty much what we did. We weren’t using an agent so we were pretty much at the mercy of the seller and most of the promises made never actually happened.  Our kitchen never did have all of the cabinets it was designed to have since they were all to be custom made and neither of us were cabinet makers.

During the first winter when it rained the front and side yards became big mud puddles. This was our first welcome to home ownership. The mud was so bad that you would lose a shoe if you tried to wade through it. We tried using paving stones to make a path from the house to the garage, but the stones just slipped around in the mud which added a whole new dimension to getting to the garage. Finally in desperation we could be found planting grass at night in the pouring rain so we could spare our shoes and physical well being. Eventually we managed to put together a yard that allowed us to enjoy our home.

I share these stories because I think many new buyers wind up in the same boat. We want to buy a house, but what does that really mean and how do we start? I believe your first step is to figure out what kind of home you want. This includes type, location, bedrooms, bathrooms, parking and a host of other things. I put together a list of some of the features you might want in a home. I included a check-off so you can fill in how many bedrooms you want, what kind of appliances you want and so forth. I included three check columns, WANT for those things you have to have no matter what, LIKE for those things that would be nice but aren’t a requirement, and WISH for those things that, in a perfect world, you would dream of having. If you click on the Link on the right, Home Wish List, it will take you to a web site that has the spreadsheet listed on the right column menu. Feel free to print a copy and do some dreaming about your new home.

About catherinetalksrealestate

I am a San Diego native who loves everything about San Diego. I enjoy camping, hiking and reading. I am a licensed real estate agent in San Diego working with Coldwell Banker.
This entry was posted in Buying a San Diego Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

